deviousone on 03-11-04 at 7:19 pm
Jemima J, by Jane Green


I have a new book, and I'm quite happy. Maybe it'll help take my mind off of everything else...

"She trudged down the street, aware that people were looking at her, and not caring whether they were looking at her size or her tears. nobody dared ask what was wrong, and Jemima had never felt so alone in her whole life. She went home, back to an empty flat, lay on her bed, and cried, and when the tears had passed she just lay, staring up at the ceiling, wondering why nothing good ever seemed to happen to her.
I know I'm overweight, she thought, but I'm not a bad person. I love animals and children, and I'm kind to people and why does no one ever fall in love with me, why can't he see through the eight and fall in love with me as a person...She knows better than most about judging books by their covers. She knows that poeple judge her instantly on her appearance, and she knows that people do the same thing with him."
Wow...Welcome to every day of my life...



back & forth